Goodbye Sookie ~ A Book Review: Dead Ever After

Well, this is it. I had been waiting months for this book. Book number 13, the last Sookie Stackhouse book, Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris. Now it was with some trepidation that I started this novel, there had been a leak of knowledge and I had heard through the grapevine that the end would make me horribly upset! Not one to ever believe others without first seeing for myself I set to reading… I was pleasantly surprised, as I personally loved it! Now for my review…

I could not believe it when Arlene waltzed back on the scene with a few of our other “old friends” (read enemies, lol) and to ask for her old job?!? I mean really. I do have to say I really loved this book! With all the hoopla, I was a bit worried. There were just so many great things about this book! It wrapped up the end of a long run series in one of the best ways I have ever seen! I was so very excited by it. Then… the last line of the whole thing! Epic! Honestly I don’t think the end could have been any better.
That is not to say there weren’t parts I didn’t like, but… isn’t that true of every story we read? In the beginning I didn’t feel like it was the same as her other books in the series, (I reread the series each time a book comes out, although this time I didn’t read the whole series, I was too anxious to read the new one.) and the POV changing and her jumping back and forth, it almost felt, to me, that she ‘didn’t know if it was right’ I don’t really know how else to explain it. I also felt that there were things she didn’t tie up, things that she “introduced” in this book, along with a general feeling of differentness from her usual writing.
I did very much like where she took it though. The journey we took with Sookie had its ups and downs, there were of course the books we loved more than others, just like there were moments in them we will always “treasure”. I just really feel in all the series I have read, this one ended the most beautifully, most perfectly. And really… I have to reiterate, that last line! Yup, I loved it!

I could go on about all the drama that has hit the paranormal readerly world, but… I don’t think I want to… I don’t think it is worth “venting” about. It is a writer’s prerogative to write the story the characters give them in their own way! So, I am just leaving it with my short and sweet review.

 

Have you read the Sookie Stackhouse books? Please, share your thoughts and opinions! (I only ask, please, no author bashing on my page, your comments will not be approved/deleted.)

4 thoughts on “Goodbye Sookie ~ A Book Review: Dead Ever After”

  1. I really enjoyed the first three books. Your review reminds me to return to the series. I’m awful about series. I was the same way with Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time. Read the first six books then moved on. Isn’t it hard to see a good series end?? (I’m thinking about Harry Potter now.) I’m glad the last Sookie book (that’s fun to say out loud) wasn’t disappointing.

    1. I live for reading series!!! I like staying in a world, really getting to know it, and the “people” I come to love. I am always sad at the end of a series… one of my personal favorite series is the Dark Series by Christine Feehan, which is well over 20 books long now and I have read them all (the beginning ones more than twenty times!)
      There is just something about these worlds, once we have been with them a while, we mourn the “end” **grins** yeah I am a bit sentimental when it comes to my books…

      1. Over 20 books??? See, I’m too impatient. The only series over 20 books long that I’ve tackled is Terry Pratchett’s Discworld weries. But his books are like several miniseries. I can handle that.

Leave a Reply

